In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a very well known fact that customers tend to go shopping for large shopping centers or malls rather than going to the small shops. Although there are few benefits on it, I believe that it is a negative development. This essay will discuss why large shopping centers give a negative way of development to the small shop owners.

Firstly, growing number of shopping malls around the country, will affect to the small shop directly. Small shop owners lose their jobs because of lack of sales for their shops. For an example customers like to visit to luxury shopping malls in order to buy their daily needs within a one place rather than going here and there. Since there are no range of products available in small shops, customers do not like to visit small shops. Due to this reason, small local shops eventually lose their revenues.

Secondly, customers will not get an opportunity to talk to each other when they do shopping in shopping complexes. For an instance, customers do not want to ask anything regarding products details or any other facts, since everything is displayed on the racks. Because of this reason people don’t talk to others for helping.

Furthermore, customer tend to buy unnecessary products while doing shopping without even thinking what they really want. Since each and everything is available on one place, customer has to spend more money on unwanted products. Hence, it is effected to the customer in negative way.

In conclusion, Large shopping malls has become a huge impact for small shop owners as well as customers. In my opinion, I believe that there are lot of negative impacts have occurred due to the shopping mall.