In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, there is no denying; that the popularity of electronic books over printed books is augmenting by leaps and bounds, also providing us new avenues by giving benefits. In my opinion, I think that the e-books bring about more benefits by reducing the monetary budget and being more environment-friendly, as compared to any of the minor drawbacks associated with them

Despite the demerits below, I believe that the online purchasing of e-books, save a lot of money as compared to buying from a book store. In other words, many readers are accessible free of cost, while others have always been on the discount package, so the buyer does not have to spend a hefty amount on the book purchasing. Another obvious benefit of e-books is; it serves as a mean of protecting the environment from further damage because the paper is made by cutting down trees and due to the large-scale of deforestation, our climate is in jeopardy. Henceforth, reading books over gadgets decline the rate at which the trees were cut down for the purpose of printing.

Admittedly, there are some cons of reading electronic books, first, it raises several health issues due to the increase in the screen time. To finish reading one has to sit for a long time which affects eyesight due to the rays omitting from the devices and causes permanent damage to nerve cells of the eyes. Secondly, the authenticity of the books available online leaves a question mark because they can be easily edited and posted by an anonymous author; whose authenticity is suspicious. To exemplify, in the UK, ‘society of writer’ reveals through research, that 33% of the books available on the internet are pirated and leads the reader to acquire false information.

To conclude, although, reading books on the devices bring more advantages in terms of saving money and environment outweigh any of the minor issues it might bring.