In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read ebooks rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

For sometime now, the number of individuals who prefer to read ebook is increasing rapidly, whereas that of paper book is declining. Although this development has its adverse effect, the visible results of the beneficial effect are more.

The negative effect of ebook is a drop in sales of paper books. In the past, authors make profit from sales of paper books, largely due to constant demand by readers, but nowadays the demand has dropped. So, as the demand drops, the sales and profit drop as well. To illustrate, the Business Day newspaper, on the 27th of February 2019, reported that Oxford publishers Nigeria, in the third quarter of 2018, made a loss of 20 million naira due to low demand.

However, one of the benefits of ebooks is mobility. Since it is stored on our devices, it can be taken to almost every location, therefore, enhances easy access. Another point to be considered is from the conservation perspective. Obviously, paper books are end-products of trees, which is a result of deforestation. That is to say, if paper books are not promoted, there would not be deforestation. This means that the increased usage of ebooks helps to protect our environment. Finally, ebooks are comfortable because they do not occupy physical space, unlike paper books.

In conclusion, even though the presence of ebook threatens business owners by reducing their profit margin, the advantages such as comfort and environmental protection cannot be ignored. For this reason, I believe that the advantages of the rise in demand of ebook outweigh its disadvantages.