Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned.

Do you agree or disagree?

While statistics can be refuted, there is convincing evidence that excessive consumption of food would result in some detrimental effects similar to smoking. Therefore, there is a common held view by many people who believe food advertising should be forbidden, however, I disagree with this attitude because of some underlying reasons.

To begin with, food industry is one of the main productive industries of any country which make a significant contribution to making income. Also, this industry pave the way of both creating many job opportunities for citizens and increasing the quality of products in this competitive world. By deterring manufacturer from advertising their products, the productivity of these companies would be reduced fundamentally, consequently, not only the unemployment rate might be increased but also the quality of products might be declined by eliminating the need for competition.

Secondly, advertisement play vital role not only in making revenue but also in educating people. In fact, according to a great deal of research, commercials are considered to be one of the most effective measures in raising public awareness. Hypothetically, if we take this view that the general knowledge of citizens will be increased through advertisements, it is logical to suggest that via advertisements, people are able to gain a vast amount of information about the advantages and disadvantages as well as the production process. Furthermore, this situation provide people with more option to choose.

Admittedly, it is true that advertisements are able to persuade people to buy more than their real needs, but banding them seems to be a temporarily solution. While, preventing people from overeating can be achieved by teaching them about those negative effects that are associated with this phenomenon.

In conclusion, it seems that putting ban on advertising some food in order to mitigate the drawbacks of overconsumption of food cause more chronic and complex concerns in terms of productivity and also public awareness.