The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Increasingly popularization of processed foods has received a great deal of media attention because of their effects on societies in recent decades. Although some claim that the commercially prepared foods contribute to making human life become more convenient, there still exist many limitations.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages of convenient foods in some aspects. First, saving time for other interesting activities is the undeniable benefit of these kinds of foods. Actually, since ready-to-eat products are almost prepared at factories before distributing to supermarkets or stores, a massive time that spent for cooking is definitely reduced, which allows people, especially women, enjoy their time with families and friends. Second, effortless distribution is also a remarkable advantage. This means that there are no concerns about foods when traveling, especially long trips, even if the local foods are totally different with your traditional ones, bringing convenient foods is trouble-free as majority of these foods is packaged.

On the other hand, prepared foods are not without downsides in a few ways. First, they cause detrimental effects on people’s health. In fact, in order to lengthen the expiration, not only nutrients, including vitamins and minerals, are removed from but also an excessive amount of unhealthy stuffs, like additives, preservatives and artificial coloring, are added into these foods, which causes some serious health issues, such as heart-related diseases and diabetes. Second, the environment is also affected by the ready-made foods. For instance, since these products are required to package for easily storing and distributing, a huge amount of waste that is released to environment, which causes the rise of gas emission due to distribution process and disposal management.

In conclusion, given that there are many benefits of convenient foods, there are still limitations. By researching new food production technologies, human can deal with this situation in the foreseeable future.