The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

Most of the major cities in the globe are facing problem of traffic congestion and air pollution which need utmost attention and major possible cause is rapid growth in personal cars. Although many people support the idea to use public transport rather than personal cars, others believe that it is not sufficient to tackle the issue of pollution and congestion. I will scrutinize both the aspects in my further paragraphs before forming any opinion at the end.

On one side of the coin, abrupt increase in private car sales make air pollution and congestion more adverse. Government and few supporters urge people to use public transport instead of private car for their day-to-day activities. They believe that it will lower the carbon emission level which eventually lead to less pollution and will ease traffic congestion. What if uses of public transport increase beyond the capacity due to this awareness? What if government are forced to buy more buses to meet the requirement. Moreover, no one can deny that pollution of a bus more than a car.

On the other side of the coin, few people argue that reduction of private car is not the only best solution. A private car is the need of our busy society. Government should focus more on electrics cars and buses instead of reduction of car uses. Moreover, people should use cycles more often for their short distance trips. Government should take initiative in tree plantation and road widening activities rather than vehicle reduction which will eventually hit manufacturing industry.

To recapitulate, although encouragement to use public transport like buses, metros instead of cars will reduce pollution and congestion, there are other ways to handle this issue such as e-cars, tree plantation, and solar power metro trains.