The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology.

To what extent do you agree?

I agree with the fact that role of education is to prepare children for the modern world but art and music is also the part of modern world, so I believe the curriculum structure should focus on IT subjects but totally ignoring arts and music would not be a right decision.

In today’s world even arts and music is directly linked to IT, where we see new instruments and technology introduced in music which helps to generate better results for the audience, we have lot of examples in front of us in this domain where different softwares and tools has been introduced which helps from recording voices to editing them and to add background music’s and tones to it and then integrating all these together. This all can be done once you know basics of music and then having knowledge of technology to generate best possible results.

Moreover if we look into different from of art like dancing, painting, acting and photography etc we see that all these are somewhat now linked with technology and one must have basic understating of technology to nourish and to better portray their artwork in-front of their audience.

To conclude with, I just want to say that there should be a balance between them and concerning bodies should consider all these facts before designing a curriculum structure for the children and it should be in a way where a child should be able to able to express his his/her interest in any filed either being IT or any other and if a child is opting and performing better in arts field than the structure should support the kid in understanding and learning the basic IT skills to do better in the field where a child want to pursue.