Shopping has become a favorite pastime among young people. Why do you think it is like that, and do you think they must be encouraged to do other things rather than shopping?

Nowadays, shopping has become a favourite hobby among youngsters. This is mainly due to the availability of marketing platforms and globalisation.

Shopping as a hobby has become the latest trend among young people. One of the main reasons for this is the excessive use of marketing techniques. This means, companies are using advertisements to attract customers through various means like television, window displays and social media. For instance, the shops in malls use creative ways to decorate items or mannequins on display, which urge youngsters to purchase. Another example is the internet, through which brands flash their products on pop-up windows, on computer screens. Globalisation is another reason why shopping has become a time-pass among current generation. This means the availability of cheap transport has made it possible for products to be marketed easily. Hence, goods from any country can be ordered online.

Although shopping is fun, an excess can cause an addiction among youngsters, and drain their income. Instead, I feel that young people should be encouraged to do alternate activities in their free time. Rather than purchasing unnecessary items, their money can be used for other useful purposes such as learning to play an instrument, doing outdoor activities and going on vacations. By doing this, they get an opportunity to learn new things while having fun at the same time. For instance, a survey conducted by a vocational college showed that the majority of the students had saved money, to enroll for courses, by reducing their shopping expenses.

In conclusion, shopping has become a common hobby among young people because of excessive marketing by companies and globalisation. However, youngsters can be encouraged to try alternate hobbies, such as learning music and visiting places, so that they are exposed to new ideas and things.