Shopping has become a favourite past time for many young people. Why is that the case? Should they be encouraged to utilise their free time in a better way?

Most of the young people prefer shopping as a leisure activity. There can be several reasons for this. However, there are also some concerns that it is better to use their free time for more productive activities than shopping.

Firstly, if we consider the reason for this development, the busy lifestyle in the current society with high spending power can be identified as the main reason. For instance, nowadays, most of the young people are earning high income compared to the past. Especially the young crowed in cities falls under this category. However, their life has become busy with these high earnings jobs and as a result, they tend to spend their leisure time shopping as a relaxation activity. Moreover, they can justifiably spend some money on shopping because of the effort they put to earn that. Secondly, trending gadgets and fashion attracts them to shopping malls and consequently, they spend most of their free times doing shopping.

On the other hand, if they could utilise their free time to do something useful it would be beneficial for their future. To explain, young people can spend their free time to do some other relaxing activities such as painting, writing or playing an instrument. Such activities help to relax the mind while developing useful skills to use in life. In addition, these activities can save money and could even help to earn extra income as well. However, learning these skills also required some effort and therefore it should be an individual’s choice to learn those. Young people should be educated about these other options to spend their time rather than spending time on shopping. Nevertheless, it should be a personnel choice to do any activity in their life.

In conclusion, although there are some useful activities to engage in free times, young people should be allowed to choose their own activity which is suitable for their lifestyle.