Students are asked to work a short time without pay as part of their education. Is this more of an advantage or a disadvantage to Student and Company?

On the job training is a novel concept which has been introduced lately. Many academic courses are now required to fulfil a practical side by participating in industrial training without any salary. In my opinion, this has an abundance of advantages for both students and companies. This essay will further discuss how practical experience will be beneficial for both parties.

To begin with, one of the crucial advantages for students is that they can experience the industry while sharpening their theoretical knowledge. Generally, many companies assign these students to work on their live systems or projects, which gives the opportunity to understand the real-life problems and operational side of the business. For instance, undergraduates who follow computer degree, are learning programming languages as part of their curriculum and they can build software applications by using those programming languages while training in software companies. This helps students to memorize the theoretical concepts and also clarify practical issues with the help of their supervisors or managers in the company. Resulting, self-confident and excellent industrial workforce out from universities.

Turning to the company side, one significant benefit is they can easily identify the gifted and talented individuals and recruit brilliant and innovative employees to the company without any additional cost. For instance, companies can save money for conducting interviews and also initial training. as those selected students had already received specialized knowledge about the company and their products. In contrast, if the industrial placement wasn’t there, companies would have to conduct interviews and hire their employees. This will waste both time and money, and also no guarantee whether the hired people will be suited for the job.

In conclusion, Industrial placement will help students to become more experienced and confident by applying their knowledge while they are learning. This will also beneficial for industries to identify most suited candidates.