Giving Pocket Money to Children is very common in many countries. Discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages about the practice and what is your opinion about it.

Childhood is the perfect time to learn money management. It is increasingly become normal to give some pocket money to children. In my opinion, this would beneficial for them to learn the basics of money management although there are some drawbacks. Let us discuss this further to have a better understanding.

If we consider the benefits, one of the major advantages of giving pocket money to children is that they can learn how to spend money responsibly. To elaborate, when they have their own cash, they learn not to waste it because if they did, they would have trouble buying what really needed. For instance, a child can spend his pocket money to buy candy if their parent packs him a delicious lunch. But if he had to buy his lunch from the given cash, he would definitely reconsider spending on candy. Which teaches how to manage it properly and responsibly.

On the other hand, there are some negative impacts of this practice. Firstly, this money can be spent on consuming unhealthy products such as alcohol or cigarette. Secondly, it can leverage to involve in a bad company especially when they are in adolescence.

However, eating unhealthy foods, and getting involved with various kind of people cannot be avoided just by not giving pocket money. In fact, parents should guide them to be responsible and avoid detrimental habits.

To sum up, despite the negative habits of consuming alcohol and wasting time with harmful people, giving some cash to children with proper guidance would give them a chance to learn and be responsible about their money.