shops should give preference in selling local food rather than imported food Do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, it is believed by many that merchandises should prioritize selling domestic food rather than those imported from other countries. From my point of view, I completely agree that shop owners should focus on selling local products. In this essay I will illustrate couple reasons to explain why this is the case.

To begin with, selling local food is beneficial to bolster the local economy, as it will bring more business opportunities, thereby begetting higher revenue for local farmers. For example, in China, the local economic growth in some areas, especially rural areas, is heavily rely on the agriculture industry, without consumers’ consumption, the farm owners will face a severe financial challenge. For this reason, it is sensible for shop owners to promote indigenous food, thus improvng the financial situation in some areas.

Another point to consider is that shops can in fact make more income from selling domestically produced food, as local products are more popular among the customers because of the fresh taste and afford price. Compared to international items, local food does not require long-distance transportation, which causes the deterioration in flavor and generates extra shipping cost. On the other hand, selling imported food can be risky for a business, as a shop can easily lose a considerable amount of money due to the delay in transportation.

In conclusion, selling local food is conducive to boost local economic growth as well as a safer business strategy. Therefore, I concur with the statement that stores should give priority to sell domestic products rather than imported ones.