Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Proper education and good healthcare facilities are the two-determining factor which impart to the country’s economic growth. Although, there are some denizens who believe that education and medical care should be funded by the government, others have an opinion that the payment for the same is the responsibility of the community itself. This essay will argue that the government of the country should be held responsible for ensuring an enlightened and healthy people.

To embark on, access to education is a basic human right. It not only raises political and social awareness but also creates employment opportunities. It should be the responsibility of the government to make the school education up to 18 years of age to encourage the younger generation complete their schooling. For example, according to the research Canada has 98% of literacy rate because of the free school education provided by its government. Moreover, the country’s administration should make sure to provide free health maintenance to its community, by introducing health insurance schemes. As a result, the people will not fear to pay a large share of their salary for doctor appointments and expensive treatments. A healthier society will contribute to the overall economic, political and social enhancement of a nation For Instance, in UK people are issued with health cards which covers more than 50% of health protection cost.

On the contrary, making education and health care treatments free for all the people is not possible as it will not only require the government to reserve lumpsum amount of the budget but will also put a burden on the society as they will have to pay huge taxes to the ministry. For example, in USA the education and medical facilities in not free, sadly, it puts a pressure on the society because the price of education and health protection are extravagant. Additionally, parents cannot afford to send their children to schools because of the sky rocketing fees. For example, In India, many people who are below the poverty line cannot send their children to school because of the high fees and neither can afford the expensive treatment costs

To conclude, I strongly agree in order to have a well established and politically strong nation the management should make it a point to provide free edification and Medicare facilities to its society