Should education and health care be free of charge and funded by the government or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services.?

Discuss the above and give your opinion with an example.

Education and healthcare are the basic prerequisites for living a healthier lifestyle. The source of funds to fulfil these requirements is the issue to be considered, whether it should be financed by the government or individuals are solely responsible for the same. The essay will discuss the role of both sides, in my opinion, both contribution is essential for better growth of the country.

On the one hand, it is the responsibility of the government to provide basic medicare and education facilities with no charge especially for those who are living below the poverty line as they cannot afford the cost of highly chargeable hospitals and schools. For instance, in India, nearly 8.5% of the total population are deprived of the fundamental right of health and education due to lack of funds.

Besides this, innumerable migrants move to the country in order to meet their education and medical requirement, several policies regarding these sectors should be introduced by the government to lure the immigrants for the benefit of the country in the long run.

On the other hand, individuals who are ambitious for various facilities are responsible to pay for extra services. Nowadays, private academic institutions and hospitals are all the rage as people disburse a large proportion of their earnings to meet out their status of living. For example, an international school charges an average rs.15000 fee for primary level schooling. Therefore to fulfil once need according to their dignity person should be in charge to bear the additional expense.

To conclude, both government and people's contribution is entirely necessary for the betterment of society. I believe needy sectors should be taken care of by the government while others should bear the cost as far as possible to maintain the balance in the nation.