Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Proper education and good healthcare facilities are the two-determining factors which will impart to the country’s economic growth. Although there are some denizens who believe that education and medical care should be funded by the government, others might have an opinion that the payment for the same is the sole responsibility of the community itself. This essay will argue that the government of the country should be held responsible for ensuring an enlightened and healthy people.

To embark on, undoubtedly, access to education and health care is a basic human right. Along with creating political and social awareness it also creates employment opportunities. It should be the responsibility of the government to make school education free up to 18 years of age apart from this, encourage the younger generation to pursue schooling. Moreover, it should also provide free health maintenance, by introducing health insurance schemes. As a result, people will not fear to pay a large share of their salary expensive treatments. A healthier society will contribute to the overall economic, political and social enhancement of a nation. For example, according to the recent report Canada has the highest literacy rate and a healthy society because of the free education and health care facilities provided.

On the contrary, making education and health care treatments free for all the people is not possible as it will not only put pressure on the government to reserve lump sum amount of the budget but will also put a burden on the society as they will have to pay huge taxes to the ministry.. Due to this many parents cannot afford to send their children to schools or provide them good treatment. For example, in the USA the education and medical facilities in not free, sadly, it pressurizes the society by paying extravagant price on education and health

To conclude, I strongly agree in order to have a well-established and politically strong nation the management should make it a point to provide free edification and Medicare facilities to its society where not only the literacy rate is high but the people are living a fit and healthy life.