Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

An inclusive education and healthcare system are the two-pillars ensuring a country’s stable and sustained economic growth. Albeit, some denizens believe that education and medical care should be funded by the government, others might have an opinion that the payment for the same should be the sole responsibility of the community itself. This essay will argue that a sound education and health care system must be state sponsored to ensure an enlightened and healthy society.

On the contrary, making education and health care treatments free for all the people is not possible as it will not only put pressure on the government to reserve lump sum amount of the budget but will also put a burden on the society as they will have to pay huge taxes to the ministry. For example, in the USA the education and medical facilities in not free, sadly, it pressurizes the society by paying extravagant price on education and health. Additionally, parents cannot afford to send their children to schools because of the skyrocketing fees. For example, In India, many people who are below the poverty line cannot send their children to school because of the high fees and neither can afford the expensive treatment costs

To embark on, undoubtedly, access to education is one of the most essential human rights. Along with creating political and social awareness it also creates employment opportunities. Besides providing free education for atleast upto 18 years of age, the government should take steps to encourage the younger generation to pursue schooling. For example, according to the recent report Canada has 98% of literacy rate because of the free school education provided to children. Moreover, the country’s administration can benefit the society by proving free health maintenance, by introducing health insurance schemes. As a result, people will not fear to pay a large share of their salary expensive treatments. A healthier society will contribute to the overall economic, political and social enhancement of a nation For Instance, in UK people are issued with health cards which covers more than 50% of health protection cost.

To conclude, I strongly agree that in order to have a well-established and politically strong nation the management should make it a point to provide free edification and Medicare facilities to its society where not only the literacy rate is high but the people are living a fit and healthy life.