Should students travel?

Some people think that students who don’t take a break in studies between a high school and a university are at disadvantage compared to students that travel and work after high school before furthering their education. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued by some that it can be a disadvantage if students don't take any break in studies before enrolling universities after they graduate from high school compared to students who have experiences of travelling and working between the high school and the university. In this essay, I will discuss why I basically disagree with the idea by providing some reasonable examples.

It is quite true that if young people travel and work before university, they can have a lot of practical experiences which will come in handy in their future lives and job hunting. However, I insist that not having such experiences before university cannot be any disadvantages for them, because many universities usually offer various similar opportunities to students such as internship, workshop and exchange school. Thorough the activities, young people in university can develop their practical skills which are considered quite important to be prepared for their job hunting or a good start of working. In addition, university campus life isn't always completely busy throughout a year, so students can travel and broaden their horizons during school holidays.

Another reason why I disagree with the idea is that no blank in studies between the high school and the university can help students to be ready to study new subjects at university. Usually, most subjects at university are more difficult than at high school, which means students need to prepare well for the high-level study and utilize their knowledge that they have learned at high school. If students spend their time on travelling and working for months or years before university, they might forget what they studied at high school. Therefore, it is much better to start university's study right after their high school graduation.

In conclusion, I believe that students can still experience various things in university life and they don't have any disadvantage even if they go forward to higher education without travelling or working after high school graduation.