Should students work while they study? Why or why not?

In today’s world, many students have to find an employment in order to finance their studies. While a professional activity can have a negative impact in terms of dedication and results at the university, in my opinion I would object that working and pursuing a university curriculum are not necessarily incompatible and may be highly beneficial for the student.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that having a student job during one’s studies may be challenging in terms of organization. In this case, the student has to comply with his studies and his professional duties. Including the time spent at the university, for the homework and at the workplace, efficient time management abilities are the key but this is not always possible as in some universities the schedules are not adapted to the practice of a professional activity. As a consequence, the student may not be committed with his studies, skipping lectures or neglecting his homework . This would have a detrimental effect on his studies.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that a professional activity can be valuable for students as long as their university schedules are adapted to such a situation. First of all, the working student will be in contact with the professional world. He will learn the sense of responsibilities complying with his commitments such as working hours, fulfillment of a given task and relationships with his colleagues. This will ease greatly his integration in the working world after his studies. Additionally, as nowadays the studies are longer, it becomes more difficult for the parents to finance their children’s studies. Modest parents couldn’t afford to pay for their child if he has to attend university until over 25 years old and has to move to another city. In this case, working during the studies may be a beneficial solution.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that having an employment during university may present some drawbacks with regard to organization and commitment, from my point of view, students should work during their studies as it may help them to develop time management skills and to be more responsible as well as it can allow the ones coming from a poor background to pursue longer curriculums