Which do you think is better, going to college right after high school or after taking a few years off?

Some students choose not to attend university immediately after secondary school and decide to have a long break before resuming their studies. I firmly believe that this could have a detrimental effect on their future, potentially jeopardizing their curriculum and their attractivity on the job market.

The first reason for that is because when a student interrupts his studies for a few years, he will probably enter in the adulthood and may start a family and a professional life as he will have to work to sustain himself and his household. These responsabilities will make him socially more independent but at the same time it will be extremely difficult for him to find time and motivation necessary to resume his studies as he will have to stay focused on his job and on the needs his family. Moreover, as the benefits of the studies are not immediate, he is likely to enter in a so-called tunnel effect, loosing sight of the objectives and undermining his motivation.

Another reason is that the brain needs intellectual activity to keep on working efficiently. In that aspect, we could compare it to a muscle, when it is not exercising, it looses strength. After a few years of inactivity the students are loosing the habit of studying, adquiring new knowledge or memorizing, impacting negatively their marks. Additionally, due to a certain age difference between them and the other students, they may experience some difficulties socializing with them.

To summarize, even if the idea of a break after secondary school may seem attractive to some students, I would object that it may have an harmful impact for their studies as it is extremely difficult to get back to university after a long period of time without studying