Smoking should be illegal. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The illegalization of tobacco is subject to a growing controversy. While users invoke the individual freedom of smoking, I would strongly object that tobacco has a detrimental effect on our public health and therefore should be prohibited.

First of all, the recent medical studies have proven the harmful consequences of smoking tobacco our health. It is linked to respiratory, cardio-vascular diseases and other types of cancers responsible for millions of death every year all over the world. Moreover, it doesn’t affect only the users but also non-smokers around them as second-hand smokers. Additionally, it has a negative effect on the development of the unborn babies when their mother is pregnant. In the two later cases, the annual impact in terms of human deaths is difficult to evaluate but still too high.

The second argument I would make to ban smoking is because of the strong addictive nature of tobacco. Nicotine, the molecule present in this plant is a powerful and highly toxic alkaloid that is as addictive or even more than certain illegal drugs such as cocaine or heroin. That means that a tobacco user will be addicted and he will be constantly under the influence of this product and for this reason it should be added to the list of the illegal narcotics in order to protect the citizens.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that smoking should be prohibited in order to prevent unnecessary deaths and because it is a highly addictive drug. It is an public health issue and therefore should be treated as such by a total ban on tobacco. As Freedom consists in doing what is not harmful to the others, every citizen should be entitled to live in a smoke free environment