Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves? Give your opinion.

Although it is thought by a few individuals that the rich countries must divide their wealth among poorer countries, others believe that the citizens of poorer nations are a responsibility of their governments. In my opinion, I agree that the governments are responsible for the taking care of its citizens and this essay will discuss this view followed by the conclusion.

First of all, it is the right of all citizens to have basic facilities from the government because people pay taxes to have such services available to them. The money from these taxes must be used for the betterment of the society only. In other words, the facilities like health care, clean water and education are required by everyone so it is right to say that these must be provided by the governments. For example, recent poll results published by the Times magazine states that approximately 95% of people support tax system only because this money is spent on welfare of people.

Secondly, the poorer nations cannot always rely on the aid from wealthy countries. As the relationships between the countries are not always the same, so in case of a conflict, residents of underprivileged country can suffer greatly. For instance, in 2002, the conflict between the United States and Iraq saw thousands of people die in Iraq because the United States stopped its food aid. Clearly, depending on other countries can cause a great deal of problem for nations.

To conclude, some people think that the wealth should be shared by the rich countries, however, I believe that it is the responsibility of every government to take care of its citizens by providing all the necessities of life and not always looking for foreign help.