Why do students prefer doing part time jobs during their studies? Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages?

Over the past few years, part-time work has become very popular among students during their studies. While there are advantages and disadvantages of both, in my opinion, it certainly has more benefits than the drawbacks. This essay will discuss both in details followed by the conclusion.

Admittedly, there are some basic disadvantages of irregular jobs while studying. Firstly, studies can suffer because of these jobs as students might not be able to manage both together. But this situation is very rare, only happening in certain countries. Secondly, some students can become more interested towards earning and not studying which might result in dropping out of school. In Pakistan, for instance, study results published by the students of the Punjab University state that more than 70% of the undergraduates decides to leave the university when they started earning.

Nevertheless, despite the above drawbacks, I believe that occasional jobs during studies is more beneficial. One potentially advantageous point is that such jobs helps to become more independent and less reliant on parents. In other words, students can start supporting themselves and choose their own path towards the future. Another obvious perk is the development of the management skills such as time and money as well as social skills like communication and problem solving. During my time in Germany, my German language improved greatly because of odd-jobs that I had to do to meet my expenses. Clearly, working while studying has tremendous advantages.

To conclude, while there are few negatives of part-time work during studies, the positives like improving skills and becoming independent far outweighs any of the minor negatives that could result from this situation.