Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more people are moving abroad where it is necessary to speak a foreign language. Those people who are unfamiliar with the language, face a variety of social issues such as difficulties in communicating in everyday life, as well as practical problems like difficulty in finding the jobs. I completely agree with the statement and this essay will tell about the problems people face because of no language skills.

First of all, the most detrimental point of not having language skills is the difficulty people have when they go out to perform different routine tasks. In other words, when they cannot communicate with others, they are not able to state their point of view to anyone. For example, when going out for shopping, they cannot ask for the required stuff from the salesmen as they will not understand each other.

Another point to consider is the practical problems because of no language skills. It will be very hard to find jobs for such people as no employer will want such staff at their workplace who cannot understand others or state their points. Furthermore, there will be more job rejections and as a result, people may find it impossible to support themselves. For example, in Germany, it is necessary to have a certain level of certification in the language so people can get jobs easily.

To recapitulate, learning a foreign language before going to another country is beneficial. In my view, those who do not learn a foreign language will suffer socially as well financially as it will be difficult to communicate and find work.