Small town center shops are running out of their businesses because rural residents tend to go shopping in big cities store. To what extent do the advantages of this development outweigh the advantages?

In modern society, villagers tend to buy products in huge city malls rather than in local ones. Some people think that large supermarkets replace local stores is advantageous while other assume that there are some disadvantages as well. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion on the matter.

On one side of the argument, there are people who believe that the replacement of country shops by country shops by larger markets is positive development. Supporters of this opinion may argue that supermarkets have vast variety of products under one roof and a country dweller can probably purchase all necessary goods from food to clothes in a one store. While small rural shops suggest lack of products and accordingly have a limited choice.

On the other side, there are people who believe that local stores are suffering from buyer’s shift to the big city malls. First, country shops probably better suit to local needs and always provide commodities to fit specific needs of countryside. For example, a rural store can have rubber-fishing boots, while you will never find this stuff in a supermarket. In addition, tendency to buy everything in a large city store may lead to disappearance of small rural shops and as a result, local economy will decline because country funds will move to a city and its development.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides have their merits. On balance, however I think that rural shops should be saved, as it is important for local economy and they provide products for all basic needs.