Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary society, smoking is so common among youngsters and old people. Invincibly, smoking has detrimental effect on both individual and society. That is the reason, It is believed that smoking should be restricted in public places. I completely accede with this viewpoint and in this essay I will support my opinion conclusively.

On top of everything, smoking is injurious to health. It has many adverse effects on one's mental as well as physical health. For instance, smoking is one of the major reasons of cancer as mentioned by Dr. James in his article. Also, one survey conducted on smokers when compared with non-smokers reveals that the level of focus and concentration, productivity at workplace and physical stamina of former category is often less efficient than latter. Not only one's own health but the society in which one is smoking gets affected by inhaling toxic air.

Moreover, smoking adds an extra expense in one's expenditure list. it has been observed that by being in the company of smoker, their mates also start following their smoking habits. Approximately, a chain smoker is addicted to smoke 10-15 cigarettes per day, which costs 10 bucks per cigarette. That can be considered as a valuable amount and If saved, can be invested on some paramount need in future.

On the other hand, some people consider burning cigarettes as as a status or standard of living in this newfangled society and believe that government should not interfere in one's freedom to choose, whether to smoke or not. It should be one's own personal choice.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned provide plausible reasons to restrict smoking in public places. In my opinion, as early government will take an initiative to impose a ban on smoking publicly and spread awareness among people, more helpful it will be to promote one's own health as well as society's.