Social media, such as Facebook, Twitter are replacing face to face contact in this century

Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages ?

It is quite common today that face-to-face contact is being replaced by several platforms, such as facebook, Twitter. In my opinion, this situation has surely carried along with it both merits and demerits.

Obvioously, social media offer several positive effects for online meeting. With the assistance of online platforms, people are available to interact with others easily since they do no need to worry about the distance or the time. In other words. users who want to have an online meeting just need a technology device which can connect with the internet. For instance, an American man only spend five minutes calling his friend,, who lives in Vietnam. He do not need to travel for a long distance to have a face-to-face meeting.

While there are certainly positive points to the issue, the inconveniences it has brought about shoul not be overlooked, One major problem is that people nowadays tend to spend more time on surfing the social platforms than meeting face-to-face with others. This can be proved by a research from a U.S University, which said that people in 2021 tended to spend 12 hours on the internet. There are several things, such as: video games, music, films which may be the factors that make people bother their real relationships. Another problem is that some rural areas have the low quality of internet, which do not allow them to interact with other ralatives, who love far from them.

In conclusion, social media does affect the contacts of people in many ways. However, I believe that the upsides of this development far outweight the drawbacks. Therefore, it should be widely promoted