Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste recycling is one of the most widely discussed issues around the globe, especially among the environmentalists and concerned bodies, and even after numerous global initiatives and continuous announcements, people seem to react whimsically to this exercise. Many opine that people have a tendency to abide by a responsibility only when there are rules and legal obligation and this is why waste recycling should be a legislation and mandatory to adhere to and I also agree with this group.

To begin with, waste recycling is a great way to save the environment and reuse many valuable materials. Some household garbage contains detrimental ingredients and can cause harm to the surroundings and can pollute the environment. If every house owner takes the responsibility to participate in the waste recycling, the waste management as well as preserving a green environment would become easier. However, this is not the case and many people still ignore this. Thus comes the question whether making it a law would force people to participate more and save the environment? I believe this will.

It is natural that people have a tendency to ignore many important tasks - be it for themselves or for the society as a whole. They are sometimes as careless as crossing the busy streets instead of taking the overpass or underpass, though the later one is safer. On the contrary, when legal obligations and punishment for an act are in place, the number of participants seems like increases dramatically. For instance, when crossing busy streets instead of using the underpass in some cities have been made a legal offence, the number of road accidents decreased significantly over the time. In a similar way when a government would make the recycling mandatory by imposing laws, people would participate more to this. This is so sensitive an issue that this should have already been a part of the law.

In fact, the main objective of the law is to deter people from doing something bad and punish the offenders in order to maintain a peaceful society. Since waste recycling is directly related to our environment and the well-being of our future generation, we should make it a legal responsibility so that people do not ignore this important issue.

In conclusion, law and rules exist to encourage and force people to follow the good trends and avoid bad practices. Since people are not spontaneously participating waste recycling and the amount of garbage is increasing, the government must have defined rules and legislation to control it for the benefit of all.