Some businesses prohibit smoking in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places.

Smoking has been prohibited inside some companies whereas in few countries it has been totally banned in all the public places. It is agreed that this is an appropriate action because serious consequences of smoking in working areas and in public may lead to fire accidents and heath hazards to self and society.

A strong argument could be put forth that smoking should not be allowed in certain work environments. For instance, if there is a lapse of security in an oil and natural gas company like Indian Oil Corporation, then it has to face the ramifications since the probability for fire accidents becomes higher. So the ban imposed is considered to be a right method not only to thwart the resources from being depleted but also to save the lives of the workers from such disaster.

Moreover, if smoking is banned in all public places of the country then obviously the overall health of the masses would be improved. Since it becomes a legal issue, if they disobey the rules, people might gradually become de-addicted. For illustration, my uncle decided not to smoke in public amenities like bus stops and railway stations instead of paying a huge amount of fine. Naturally, life-threatening diseases like lung cancer and asthma could reduce and the number of passive smokers might also decline. Eventually, the future citizens of the country are made healthier which would be reflected as their efficiency, productivity and enthusiasm thereby paving way for the country's development.

In conclusion, banning smoking either in business sectors or all public places, both are undeniably a wise remedial act because the job environment is made safer and the people are encouraged to lead a healthy lifestyle which in turn contributes to the overall growth of the country. Though smokeless future seems to be skeptical but it could be made possible with joint efforts of all the individuals.