Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Many company owners demand their employees to dress uniform at work, because it usually brings many advantages to the company. However, some labor unions claim that uniform also causes many problems to the staff. In this essay, I will consider the pros and cons of this style of clothing.

Let us start with the benefits that dressing uniforms offer. The first advantage is that it can separate employees from other people. It is quite difficult for clients to differentiate workers from either other clients or manager, when they all wear casual dress, but with the help of uniform they do this easily. Another advantage is that it shows the maturity of company. Clients mostly estimate the prestige of an organization by its appearance, so uniform ensures them that the company is serious enough to do business with. Furthermore, it protects people from fire. Many manufactures demand their personnel to wear incombustible clothing to save their lives in case of emergency, such as fire in the manufacturing department as well as hitting brick.

However, despite these positive effects, some labor unions argue that wearing uniform also has many drawbacks. Firstly, it does not always fit. Mass production of uniform rarely considers the unique features of each worker, so many workers complain that it does not suit them in size. Secondly, it often contributes to trauma. For example, many employees break the leg, when they unluckily slip, since the uniform boots deter the flexibility of leg and, therefore, cause a fracture in the bone. Moreover, it is made of low quality. Many employees, for instance, report that uniform is worn out very quickly, because the material, which it is produced from, is frequently is of poor textile.

In conclusion, even though dressing employees in uniform is suggested to be practical for its advantages, but it still poses many problems to wearers as well.