Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficien.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is quite difficult to choose the right penalty for breaking a law. Some politicians state that the government should adopt the legal system with fixed punishment. This essay will consider both pros and cons of this system.

Let us start with the positive effects of fixed punishment. The first advantage is that criminals will receive the same punishment for a certain crime. All people, no matter circumstances, will be punished equally if they commit, for example, a pickpocketing. Another benefits is that there is no need for trial. The check of evidence is not required, since the accused will immediately be found guilty and get penalty. Furthermore, it save money on judges, juries and lawyers. The government can dismiss all the participants of court, which means that it will have no need to pay them salaries.

Despite the above mentioned merits, this type of judicial system has many demerits. Firstly, It is unfair to criminals under special circumstances. Some offenders break a law because of being driven either poverty or self-defense, so it will be unjust to punish them with serious felons. Secondly, many innocent people will be found guilty. Since there is no justice investigation, many sinless people will service their sentences in prison before the police find the true criminal. Moreover, the justice system will be inconsistent with the global standards. The country will have problems with foreigners, as the justice system in their home country may demand for trial with judges and lawyers prior to penalizing according to the local legal system.

In conclusion, although fixed penalty has many positive sides, it also causes many problems for the government.