In some counties the widespread use of internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of traveling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Along with the development of the internet in some area, more and more people can choose to do their job at home or attend online class instead of commuting to a physical office or school. While I agree that there is pro and con of this issue, I do believe the advantage carries more weight than the disadvantage.

Online meeting or class could impair people’s productivity and efficiency. Compared to working or studying in a physical place, people can do whatever they like when they stay at home. From my perspective, there are various temptations at home which can distract people from their task. As a result, it is hard for them to maintain their concentration for a long time.

On the other hand, the online services are less time consuming and can provide people with a relaxing environment. If we work or study at home, there is no need to go the office or school, so that people can save commuting time as well as avoid traffic congestion. For example, when I worked in Japan 2 years ago, it took me about 1.5 hours from my apartment to the office every day. If I could work at home, I could spend the time on other things including working and rest. Furthermore, we can find a more relaxing environment to work or study which can help us feel less pressured which is good for health.

In conclusion, I would argue that working or studying at home through internet brings us more benefits than drawbacks.