In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In several nations married couples prefer to have children at an older age rather than at a young age. This essay will discuss that the main reasons of this trend are desire to achieve career goals and high cost of living. The most significant effects of this phenomenon are that it give rise to family disputes and there are chances of infertility among women at a later age.

Individuals plan children in later life because they prioritize career growth over families. In other words, men and women have a desire to climb the corporate ladder and to achieve a settled job before having the responsibility of infant. In addition, the cost of living has increased abruptly in present times as compare to past. That is to say, adults often find it difficult to pay for their living cost because of the high price of utilities and other expenses. Therefore, they often prefer to become financial stable before giving birth to young children. For example, it is evident that people in the west often avoid family planning until and unless they become financially capable to bear the expenditure.

One common consequence of such trend is that it widens the family relationships. As children are often regarded as a bridge between the relations, the absence of them causes conflicts among families. Moreover, due to high usage of contraceptives, many females suffer from menstrual problems. This is because, the human body can not resist the constant disturbance with the natural cycle. Eventually, this would have an adverse impact on the health of women because they become prone to myriad diseases. For instance, in India one out of ten women suffer from ovarian related diseases, which restrict them to give birth.

In conclusion, professional ambitions and less savings are the main causes of having children in later life. This would would certainly have a negative influence on society because it broadens the gap between married couples and exploits the reproductive health of women.