In some countries, criminal trials are shown to the public on television. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

criminal trials are being telecasted in many countries. Although the family members of the culprit face problems from society, I believe this phenomenon has many advantages Besides getting awareness about the court, people get to know the transparency in penalization.

There are numerous benefits of televising the prosecution in courts.to begin with, the major portion of citizens are not aware of court proceedings. If this process is telecasted, they will understand the legal system. For Instance, Mr. Charles, a former senator of the united states of America argued that Courts are an important part of our government, and the more our government institutions are shown to the public, the more dignified they become. In addition, broadcasting the trails ensure openness and transparency as well. This develops faith in law and order in society. Furthermore, the public will get frightened to commit crimes as they see similar consequences earlier on television. As a result, the crime rate will be reduced automatically.

However, there are a few disadvantages to this occurrence. The foremost is that the criminals' family members get affected if their faces are shown in the media. Both the offended and their family members get bullied and humiliated by society .for example, according to the charity Beatbullying, thousands of children, whose parents have been arrested, systematically, and seriously bullied in the UK in the past few years. Moreover, comprehensive criminal trials might give potential ideas for committing crimes. It is an indirect way to teach offenders how to escape from punishment.

To conclude, crime telecast creates problems for not only the criminals but also their families. Nevertheless, the benefits like knowing about the legal process, increasing faith in the judicial system, and controlling crime overwhelm any disadvantages.