In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

With the surge in the number of fast-food items available over the last few decades, its consumption has grown exponentially. This extensive intake of junk food has led to multiple complications, ranging from an intangible decrease in cognitive abilities to conspicuous cyst formation requiring surgical procedures. Hence, it is mandatory to take diligent measures to curb the amount of fast-food consumption. This essay disagrees with the feasibility of levying a high tax to reduce consumption and bases this opinion on its implications in the long run and its effect on underserved families.

Imposing a high tax on junk food might seem to be reliable in the short run, but ineffective for a protracted period. Other than taste, junk food is mainly preferred because it is simple, easy, and quick to cook and eat. Thus, forcing a higher tax might push people to an alternative lifestyle, yet they would undoubtedly fall back to their previous lifestyle owing to the comfort of fast foods. Nevertheless, the proposed government measure is unlikely to succeed until a feasible healthy alternative with the benefits of fast food is guaranteed.

Another prime factor to consider is its effect on the families below the poverty line. In most countries, especially the developing nations, it is impossible to ignore the financial and economic gap between the two extremes of the demographic population. Most of the impoverished families depend on fast food because of affordability compared to healthier foods like salads, and imposing a high tax would only widen the gap.

In conclusion, levying a steep tax is not the best measure, as it fits only a short term perspective and asserts an economic pressure on the unfortunate. It is, therefore, primary to directly address the root cause of the issue and provide suitable alternatives.