In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone now days than in the past.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Living in solitude is gaining a lot of popularity of late. In a few countries there is a growing trend of several individuals who prefer to exist all alone than in the prior times. I totally assert that this a negative trend, and in the essay I would further justify my claim through valid examples.

The most compelling reason in favour of living in company versus living alone comes with a sound reason of safety and security of an individual. In today’s times of an escalating crime rate to stay alone would simply seem to be an easy prey for burglars, swindlers, muggers and even killers. To illustrate, In India only in the recent times so many single old parents of children who are settled abroad are found brutally murdered or they have been assaulted citing them all alone in a vacant house seems an inviting proposition for such felons. So of late to take care of such lonely old people police constables are sent every week to check on their wellbeing.

Another crucial reason that comes to my mind regarding the negative factors of staying all by oneself, as it would be highly detrimental in case of major ill-health. Especially if a person is facing serious health issues like Depression, Dementia Cancer or even Arthritis and if he/she is not even in an ambulatory condition. Then he or she is left at the mercy of health professionals, who may take advantage of their situation and even ill-treat them. For instance, in many countries in Mexico where people out of choice have decided to stay unmarried, they often land up being all alone and facing a lot of loneliness related problems. However, of late government is taking sound measures to address this issue.

Living in company of a family, friends or even relatives can come with its own set of problems. Nevertheless, they even come with a plethora of advantage like companionship, bonding, safety, sharing, caring and the best of all is the feeling of belonging as well as feeling wanted.

To encapsulate, I would like to reiterate my faith in living in company is any day far better than living all alone for safety reasons and also to be taken care of by someone in times of dire need.