In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays

than in the past.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In some nations, more men and women are deciding to live by themselves these days as compared to recent years. I think this is a positive development because it can reduce stress as people can live freely without any restrictions and they can save their time.

When people living alone their actions are not restricted to the housemates and this can reduce the stress. In other words, living with someone can create conflicts between them because of the different ideas and opinions about how a house should be maintained. Therefore, they do not need to accommodate others and that eventually results in reducing stress level. For example, a recent survey by the Guardian suggested that people who live alone are 20% less stress than the others who live with friends.

Another reason to consider is that people can save a huge amount of their time by living alone. That is to say, when there are more members in house it can take more time to do household work. This means that it can help them to save time by not having to wait for others to finish using appliances or equipment that they need to use. For instance, a recent report by the New York Times revealed that families of four or more take an extra 20 minutes on average to get ready in the morning than a person who lives alone.

In conclusion, the increasing trend of people living alone is beneficial as it can decrease the stress level because they do not have to share accommodation with others and it can save their precious time.