In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Two days ago, I read an article about housing in Karaganda city. The author said many house seekers choose renting accommodation more frequently than buying. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of leasing an apartment.

Let us start with the positive effects. The main benefit of renting is the affordability for families, which have low incomes. Renting houses costs much less than paying a mortgage, so many couples resort to renting, but at the same time they deposit a small portion of the family income. For example, many families, in Karaganda city, both rent two-bedroom apartments for a hundred dollars and deposit the rest of the salary to a savings account. Another advantage is the ability to relocate to other cities. Even thought many families are often offered a dream job, they have to refuse it, as the workplace is a long distance from their permanent place of residence. In this case, renting allows them to pursue their career in another company, no matter its location. The final advantage is that renovation of housing is not necessary. Families, who prefer renting, can choose another apartment when the old one needs repairing.

Despite these advantages, renting causes many drawbacks. One of the main disadvantages is the discomfort of sharing an apartment with other people. As many cities are overcrowded, many families have to share accommodation with others, which causes inconvenience to all. For instance, many couples, in Almaty city, have to rent three-bedroom apartments with other two families. Another drawback is the frequent change of schools for children. Children often suffer from having to change schools when their parents decide to lease a house in another part of the city or country. As a result, this leads to the absence of friends as well as poor performance at school. The last disadvantage is low confidence in the future. People, who have to live in a leased house, feel less secure than house owners, since they are factually homeless.

In conclusion, although renting often allows families to easily change their residence, it may cause discomfort and stress.