Some people think that people should choose their job based on income in order to provide security for their family.

To what extent do you agree with this?

These days when the prices for food and clothes are growing rapidly, people have to work hard to provide for their household. For this reason, some politicians advocate that people should consider lucrative occupations if they want their family to have enough money to accommodate all needs. In this essay, I identify with their point of view.

To begin with, some sociologists state that people should base their choice of profession on their preferences. They defend their opinion with the following arguments. First of all, a favorite job can give job satisfaction. Many people build a successful career if they begin it with passion and therefore they become diligent as well as content with their work. Secondly, it usually gives them the necessary strength to overcome failures. The majority of employees, who have ever been dismissed, never abandon the idea of development in career because their dream pushes them to keep trying despite countless refusals and frustrations. For example, the former president of the Microsoft Corporation, Mr. Bill Gates, kept growing his large corporation over decades even though he faced plenty of misfortunes, since he loved programming and computers. Hence, after all things considered, it is clear that people should lay their preferences on job they are keen on.

Nevertheless, some politicians claim that people ought to look for highly-paid jobs to maintain their families. They justify their point of view with the following reasoning. The first reason is that these occupations tends to secure their families with prosperity. Today there is no abundance of lucrative jobs, so it would be foolish to neglect them only because they are not pleasant. In fact, they can transform the standards of living and give spare money to charity. Another reason is that they normally provide confidence to their family in the future. Jobs based on income can give a chance to save enough money for emergencies. For instance, if the breadwinner becomes unemployed, the family can pay their bills and get by on their savings for indefinitely until the head of family finds a new job. Thereby, after analyzing these argumentations, it is obvious that people should single out jobs based on income rather than preferences.

In conclusion, although some sociologists suggest to opt jobs on the basis of likings is the right choice, I am opposed to them and think that income overweighs all possible benefits.