In some countries, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Juvenile delinquency, indeed, appears to be more prevalent in some communities. People have different perspectives concerning the punishment for young criminals. I vehemently contend that teenagers should receive adult punishment, irrespective of the age, and numerous reasons can be attributed to support this.

The most preponderant reason for this is that it generates equality among inhabitants of society. All people must abide by the law and follow them in their life. If the teenagers do not get adult punishment, it will reflect the discriminating and biasing characteristic of the constitution, which in turn may initiate differences, and disrupt the peace and the national integrity. For instance, if a teenager, victim of an acid attack, do not get harsh punishment equivalent to adult criminals, committing the same crime, then the justice of the system would be questioned.

Another worth mentioning reason is that it is necessary to deter crime, and for maintaining a crime-free ambiance. If young offenders do not get stern punishment, then further chances of reoffending will be higher than those who already faced strict punishment. Also, some communities protect young criminals through Children Protection Act, which influences them to perpetrate a heinous crime.

However, some people believe in not penalizing the young criminals with strict punishments, as it ruins their entire life behind bars, and they must be allowed to establish in society. For instance, in some of the societies, it is observed that teenagers, who are petty offenders, are given punishment to do unpaid community work. As a result, they realize the repercussions of committing a crime and may turn into a good citizen. Be that it may, I believe that young criminals require retribution equivalent to adult criminals.

In conclusion, young offenders need to give punishment similar to adult criminals owing to, promote equality among citizens, and maintain a crime-free society.