In some countries, people are renting accommodations, while others are buying their own homes. Does renting accommodation has more advantages or more disadvantages than buying a place

In many countries, residents still prefer to buy a home, while the people of industrialized nations are seen inclined towards renting an apartment. I believe that renting accommodation has more benefits than buying it.

Considering firstly the negatives of renting a house, an important one is that this kind of accommodation does not provide an opportunity for personalization. This is because the house is usually designed by the home-owners and any customization of wall colours and cabinets would jeopardize the terms of an agreement between the tenant and the landlord. Contrast this with homeowners who have the freedom to beautify their living space, both internally and externally as per their liking and requirements.

However, the main advantages of living in a rented home are that they provide greater flexibility to individuals. Owing to increasing mobility, many people travel or even immigrate to another country for education or job opportunity, hence it becomes feasible for them to rent a place instead of directing their entire investments in acquiring possession of a house. Besides that, renters are saved from the expenses that are incurred before and after buying a house. For example, In California, the property tax and mortgage interest are higher than the average rent of a decent-sized apartment in the suburbs.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages of flexibility and less expenditure that comes with renting a house outweigh the disadvantages of lack of personalization in comparison with homeownership.