In some countries, people prefer to rent a house than buy one. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a property?

Choosing a place to live has always been a choice that leaves people in dilemma. A lot of people, especially those who are living in developed countries prefer to rent a house rather than owning it. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of getting a property on lease.

Looking firstly at the positives, a significant advantage of getting a house on rent is one can easily move out of the house to a new place with a mere notice of one or two months. He does not have to bother much regarding who will take care of that property after his movement. According to a recent survey, most of the millennials residing in the metro cities prefer to rent a house as they believe that it is much easier for them while changing their job or shifting out of a place. Apart from that, one can avail exemption from income tax if he is staying in rented accommodation. Most of the countries have a policy of giving house rent allowance which is generally 30-40 percent of the basic income. Hence this could be a good way of getting a rebate on income tax.

Coming to the drawbacks, one evident disadvantage of renting a house is that a tenant will always miss the sense of belongingness in a rented house. The resident is answerable to the owner. For instance, the occupant needs to take the owner’s permission whenever he wants to make any renovation in the house. Hence, that person cannot take independent decisions for that property. Moreover, rents may shoot up based on inflation and other economic factors. In that case, the resident has no other option, he has to pay the inflated rent, failing to do so might lead to vacating the house in the worst scenario. This way renting a property could be a bizarre decision.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of hassle-free mobility and savings on income tax through HRA, the drawbacks of missing out on the freedom of taking independent decisions about the property and paying the surged rent should also be taken into consideration before deciding on renting a property.