Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Some governments allocate money for making safe and comfortable cycling lanes in order to improve the environment and reduce traffic on roads. In my opinion, this measure can give some results in the long term, but there are better measures, which could help to lessen the burden in the short term.

The main reason of financing cycle tracks is improving traffic flow in rush hours. If people are encouraged to use alternative transport instead buses and car, it will lead to declining number of vehicles on roads and consequently reducing traffic congestion. In addition, bicycle and stand up push scooter is pollution-free mode of transport. They do not use fossil fuels and as a result, they save tones of greenhouse gas emissions each year. In the long term, we can expect tremendous reduction of exhaust fumes emissions into the atmosphere.

However, in spite of benefits of arranging well-equipped bikeways, it may not be effective solution because only small part of citizens will support this kind of transport. It will take time to promote it and encourage sufficient number of people to use it. Therefore, as a short-term measure it will probably better way to organize public transport lanes and to build new multilevel road junctions and wider roads. Thus, convenient and fast public transport with well-organized road system will improve traffic-related issues.

In conclusion, main cause of investing funds into cycle lanes allocation by some nations is a desire to improve traffic on the roads and to solve the environment issues related to gas emissions. From my point of view, while it will affect mentioned issues in the long term, other measures can be taken to tackle them in the short-term.