Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, sport is becoming more and more popular with people of all ages. While I partly agree with some individuals who argue that the governments should use money to encourage the participation of the youth in sport activities, I believe that investing this money for training professionals is more significant.

On the one hand, there are a couple of reasons why some people agree with the idea of using money to motivate children to play sports. First and foremost, it is obvious that many parents want their offspring to have both strong physical and mental health, and playing sports is one of the most efficacious methods to improve it. Indeed, many researchs claim that people joining sports activities are greatly stronger and have more stamina. Moreover, playing sports can also give adolescents the opportunities to improve their social skills. This is due to the fact that they have to cooperate, as well as communicate with their partners.

On the other hand, the outcomes of helping competitors prepare for their major sport competitions are remarkable. To commence with, getting prizes in such popular competitions such as the Olympic or World Cup brings many merits to the countries. It can motivate the popularity of the nations, therefore, have a beneficial impact on the nation's economy since many corporations from other countries will invest their money to base their headquarters and companies in them. Another benefit of it is that competitors who win the prize are likely to become influential figures, which can set an important example for many citizens, especially for the teenagers. Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, 2 of the greatest and most successful footballers over the period, for illustrate, have inspired thousands of kids to play soccer.

In conclusion, it seems to me that spending money for professionals is as important as using it to encourage children to play sports.