Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there is an argument about whether or not smartphones and computers can be seen as negative for youngsters’s skills related to reading and writing. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea due to the fact that it has some possible merits.

On the one hand, I accept that the usage of mobile phones and laptops has a detrimental impact on the youth. Thanks to the rapid development of technology nowaday, people are now likely to use technological devices for both entertainment, education and communication. Thus, young people hardly have time to read some books, which may help them significantly improve their reading and writing skills. Moreover, numerous computer software developed for writing has encouraged youngsters to forget the language rules. Almost all the computers today consist of spell and grammar checkers. When people continuously use them, it is common to forget the spellings and the general writing rules of any particular language.

On the other hand, I still believe that using smartphones and computing devices also bring some benefits. The main merits of it is that these kinds of technologies give people, especially adolescents, the ability to communicate and keep in touch with others. Hence, they may be motivated to type more, resulting in the motivation of their writing skill. Another advantage of it is that many people use social media, as well as the internet, to search for information and knowledge thanks to its convenience and flexibility. By distilling the information they need, their literacy proficiency is also enhanced remarkably.

In conclusion, while I accept that using technological devices has a negative influence on juveniles’ reading and writing skills in some ways, I argue that the benefit of it should be taken into consideration.