Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

It is an undeniable fact that the smoking tobacco deteriorates the public health and yet only a few countries around the world have imposed restriction against it. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and there are countries for which it is not feasible or even possible to ban the tobacco. This essay discusses the debate and gives a concluding view.

On one hand, those who support the regulations against tobacco consumptions cite the fact that the smoke of tobacco is not only harmful to the smokers, but also to the surrounding people, especially to infants and pregnant ladies. They cite the scientifically proven fact that secondhand smoke is far more dangerous than gas emitted by car engines during fuel combustion. Moreover, this camp gives an example of countries like Singapore, where smoking in public places is legally outlawed. They claim that having such rules has improved the public health in the country which is evident from its life expectancy data. To the supporter of such law, these arguments are convincing.

By contrast, officials from countries such as India and Afghanistan, which show no interest in prohibiting smoking in public places, point out that tobacco consumption and export significantly contributes to overall GDP. This is because many farmers and retail sellers are involved in this line of business and they will suffer financially if the governments would pass law against tobacco. Another reason is the presence and the influence of drugs mafia in the parliament which resists passing any laws that can hurt their empire.

Overall, it seems more sensible for any country to outlaw the tobacco consumption to improve the health and life expectancy of its citizens. Countries which face difficulty in implementing such rules would need to build alternative income sources for their citizens and get rid the influence of drug mafia in lawmaking.