In some countries university students live at home with their families while they study, whereas in other countries students attend University in another city. Do you think the benefits of living far away from home during the university outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world where money matters a lot, a person has to learn the skill of living. It is quite common in today’s world that many students go to college in various cities other than their hometown whereas some prefer living with their family for their studies. In my opinion, although staying with family has many advantages, however, staying alone and far from home is much more beneficial for the overall development of a student. This essay will discuss the various advantages of staying away from home in contrast to staying with them.

To begin with, staying alone and far from family needs lots of patience. Firstly, one master the skill of living in a society when he or she gets to know about different problems of life whether it is personal or social etc. Secondly, they are forced to manage their day to day activities on their own such as washing clothes, waking up on time etc. most importantly, it fosters the time management skills in them. Thirdly, on the financial front they develop the skill to manage their money, moreover, they learn the importance of money and value them. Lastly, they develop a sense of realization of their own responsibilities. Furthermore, they grow as a strong and confident person. For instance, a recent study done by the “Psychological Department” of a University of California proved that 60% of students who were far from their home were bold enough to take up any challenges in life than the ones who lived with their family. Thus, it is intuitively obvious that one gets a lot more to learn and achieve when he is far from the comforts of his home.

On the other hand, there are some benefits of staying at home like, one does not have to take care of his or her daily needs as they are completely dependent on their parents. In addition to this, they also do not bother to check their expenses. In case of any help related to academics or finances, they get help from their family members. Therefore, in this case, students never get a chance to develop their managing skills and most of the time fail to gather the confidence to do something bigger in life. To illustrate with an example, there was an article published in “The Hindu” newspaper which made a succinct comparison between both the types of student and showed that 60% of student who lives alone was more positive towards life, was good at managing skills and also had larger dreams to pursue in life.

To conclude, after analyzing all the aspects of the given argument it is evident that studying in a different city other than the hometown has many benefits which overbalance the disadvantages.