In some countries, young people at the age of 18 are considered adults and can drive a car, vote and get married, while other countries don't allow it. What age do you think is the best to be considered an adult? Give reasons and examples.

People, around the world, would like to enjoy their freedom at any age they prefer to. They would want to enjoy drinking alcohol, drive any vehicle and get married, without anyone's interference. Some governments allow this freedom to their citizens at a very tender age. Whereas certain governments are against such early freedom and have a higher age limit set to enjoy these rights. The reasons for each country’s government are based on social, political, financial and religious factors.

Many western countries, allow the right to drink, drive and get married at the age of 16. They feel that the younger lot of their society is quite mature and capable to exercise these rights. The youth prefer to stay independent from their parents as they can manage and support themselves financially.

On the contrary, governments of many third world countries are against providing such rights to their citizens at an early age. In such countries, the majority of teenagers and youth still stay with their parents and are emotionally, financially dependent on them for any decision making. The younger generation are unaware of the commitments of married life, repercussions of irresponsible drinking, nor do they have the maturity or capability to drive vehicles. These governments feel that this would cause issues in society in the form of alcoholism, injuries, and deaths due to vehicle accidents and high incidents of divorces.

In my personal opinion, the minimum age to drink, drive and getting married should be 18 years globally. By this age, the individuals would have attained mental and physical maturity, capability, understanding and financial stability to drink, drive or get married at their will.