n some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

In today’s day and age, owning a house has always been on an individual’s wish list. But, there is a section of society that believes that rented accommodation is a better option as compared to purchasing one outright.

The real estate market is quite expensive for the common man and is out of his reach. Even getting a loan is difficult looking at the average income levels as compared to funds needed to buy a residential property. Staying in a rented apartment provides various benefits. People do not have to shell out a huge amount of funds as they just need to pay the monthly rent. It gives people flexibility in terms of moving out if their situation changes by providing notice to the tenant as per the agreement. It also helps people who have relocated to other cities and towns for jobs or studies, for temporary arrangements.

On another hand, gaining ownership of your accommodation gives a sense of pride, social status and self-confidence. People prefer to acquire loans rather than pay rent for a property. The rent paid would never be recovered but the monthly installment for loan payment moves the individual a step further towards gaining ownership. There are very high chances of financial gains as the property prices are soaring high at a very fast pace which appreciates the investments made. A sense of belonging is experienced after acquiring title to the property and there is an urge to keep it well maintained.

In my opinion, the benefits of buying an apartment outweigh renting it provides security, stability and pride to the family as well as saves on rent and in turn help build individual wealth by investing in real estate.