Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Technology is improving the way of communication and many organizations want to take the benefit of this advancement to bridge the gaps of connectivity between employees. It is believed by some managers that they should be able to contact their staff every moment they want to. In my opinion, this development has more benefits as compared with drawbacks.

On the positive side, the availability of employees all time can directly benefit the organization in terms of outcome. The communication between employees will be strong to put better results as a team. Employees can clear their doubt at any time without delaying and their problems can be solved which will directly improve the output of the organization. For instance, online WhatsApp group between company teams is very common these days to discuss the concern regarding shop floor activities and questions. Therefore, these benefits are to drive unity in the team and improved the outcome of all employees which directly benefits the organization.

On the negative side, the personal life of an employee is affected as the employee has to dedicate more time to his job. Contacting employees all the time can hinder their private life and other activities. This sometimes results in a stressful life and frustration with the company. In the majority of the cases, employees prefer to shift their jobs because of the inability to handle the pressure of presence all the time. A survey revealed that the persuading employees to be present all-time for an organization has adverse impacts on their family life balance.

In conclusion, despite negative impacts on the family and social culture, I believe that contacting employees all the time has more advantages for the organization as well as for the employee.