Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Technology is improving the way of communication and many organizations want to take the benefit of this advancement to bridge the gaps of connectivity between employees. It is believed by some managers that they should be able to contact their staff every moment they want to. In my opinion, this development has more benefits as compared with drawbacks.

On one hand, some employees being accessible have many considerable advantages which are vital for the society. For instance, medical or nursing professionals should always be ready to attend to the emergencies that occur in order to save people's life regardless of holidays. In this case, the main advantage is they could play an important role in saving lives. Another benefit of working on holidays for the employees is that they get paid for their work or overtime, resulting in contribute monthly income of the workers. Furthermore, when a service agent or sales representative is unable to be contacted for costumer's inquires, it is likely that costumers will become unsatisfied and subsequently discouraged. For this mentioned reason, it is said that keeping constant contact could improve costumer service's quality.

On the other hand, it has been observed that employees who are contacted during their vacations to support office will feel exhausted and frustrated. On the other words, there are several employees who do not want to receive even a single phone call from their employers when they are at home or on holidays because it makes them stressed out. Majority of people do not want to be interrupted by their bosses because they prefer to get relax or refreshed on their holidays. Moreover, research indicates people working without getting enough rest often fail to concentrate on their tasks, which can affect quality of their job.

In conclusion, despite negative impacts on the family and social culture, I believe that contacting employees all the time has more advantages for the organization as well as for the employee.